大韓民國 in September / October 2012 – Day 2

Published October 20, 2012 by UsagiNoTabi

Day 2 – 이천 십이 년 구월 이십사 일 [월요일] 2012 September 24 [Monday]

Today’s highlight was Yang Dong Folk Village [양동민속마을]. Many blog writers wrote that many buses take you to Yang Dong, but you need to do a 1.2km walk to the entrance… The bus drivers think otherwise… I was fortunate that the staff in bus terminal and the bus drivers suggested me to take Bus 203 from a bus-stop beside the Bus Terminal. This bus took you right to the entrance of the village. It is the same bus-stop to wait / take the same bus nos. back to Gyeongju City. Din have to wait long for the bus as it arrived at 1034hrs. *If you have T-money Pass, you can use it to take the bus too. It was expanded out of Seoul recently… The bus fare costs ₩1,500 in cash (might cost slightly less if using T-money), and I reached the village around 1115hrs.

Went to the tourist booth to get the map of Yang Dong and their recommended must-visit houses. According to the staff at tourist booth, you can complete the village tour in 2 to 3 hours.

Lunch was cold noodle ₩5,000 (S$5.60) within the village. Had intended to try Kalguksu Knife-Cut Noodle Soup with its homegrown tojong chicken as I had found out from another blog that this village is well-known for it, but couldn’t locate the restaurant serving it. Also because it was a Monday, I think the villagers were out for work and it was relatively quiet with the exception of the tourists. According to the lady tending to the restaurant where I had my lunch… youngsters are leaving this village and population are dropping… Ended my visit and took the same bus at 1345hrs back to Gyeongju, the return trip costs ₩1,200, this bus also bring you to Shin-Gyeongju where you can take KTX. Many info of Yang Dong can be viewed on the web but I think http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yangdong_Folk_Village offered a nice overview.

Was back in Gyeongju in late afternoon, alighted around Jungang Market and walked towards Sa Rang Chae. Bought my ticket to Daereungwon ₩1,500, entered from the side entrance and exited via the main entrance. Cheonmachong, probably a tomb of a Shilla King, was opened for visit, you get to see several artifacts displayed within the tomb but no photos to be taken. You get to see families bringing their youngsters to visit Daereungwon and the staff keeping the park tidy and clean. You might get to see the magpie, like I did, a bird that is symbol of an auspicious messenger in Korea. Traditional Korean music were played in the background too.

After walking around Daereungwon, weather was so hot that I got myself a ice-cream ₩1,000 before continuing my walking tour.. Did walk to Cheomseongdae but did not pay the entrance fee ₩600 to visit because it was smaller than what I had expected. In fact, a lot of tourists were like me, viewed Cheomseongdae from outside. Had bought a bottle of Banana Milk and a 1.5l of Plum Juice from a convenience store located just beside Daereungwon Main Entrance, but I think was overpriced due to its location as I paid ₩5,100 for 2 items (@_@). The banana milk generally costs ₩1,200… Settled my dinner at a small eatery located about 3 minutes from Sa Rang Chae. End of my walking tour for today and tomorrow continue…

Leave a comment